• fastrackjournal

Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals Next For Lucas Oil ASCS

TULSA, OK - One of racing’s most legendary dirt tracks, the Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas is next for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network with the 42nd running of the Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals on Friday, October 16 and Saturday, October 17. A step closer to a possible $60,000 prize, Aaron Reutzel leads the way into the Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals with a 45 point advantage over the No. 45x of Johnny Herrera. Far from comfortable breathing room, Reutzel has place third in National Tour competition at the Devil’s Bowl; doing so in the 2013 and 2014 Winter Nationals. For Herrera, the Devil’s Bowl has been a roller coaster of finishes, but in those, two have been at the top of the podium in 1996 and 2013. In all, Johnny has placed on the podium five times with his two wins joined by two seconds and a third. While Wayne Johnson trails by 107, the No. 77x is not out of the championship hunt. The site of 19 of Johnson’s 131 National Tour podiums, Wayne’s most recent win at the famed half-mile came during the 2015 ASCS Sizzlin’ Summer Speedweek, and is one of seven at the Devil’s Bowl. Admittedly Johnson’s favorite track, the Oklahoma City native easily has the most laps turned at the Mesquite oval than any other driver on the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour. Seth Bergman holds forth in tour standings. In regards to the Devil’s Bowl, the Washington native picked up a National Tour win on June 14, 2014. Four wins in 2015 with the National Tour, Seth has 13 overall wins on the season. Rounding out the top five in Matt Covington. The defending champion of the Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals, Covington came close to his first victory of the 2015 season at the Hockett/McMillin Memorial. In the series last six visits to the Devil’s Bowl, the No. 95 has finished in the top-three four times. Blake Hahn holds sixth with 2015 Brodix Rookie of the Year contender, Kyle Bellm, trailing the No. 52 by 84 markers. Hahn with one National Tour win in 2015 has come close at the Devil’s Bowl with a runner-up on June 16, 2014 behind Seth Bergman. Bellm’s only National Tour win came at the Devil’s Bowl in the 2013 Spring Nationals. Jordan Weaver holds eighth with Kris Miller ninth. While the 2015 title chase will be settled at the Short Track Nationals at the I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark. on October 28-31, 2015, the Devil’s Bowl weekend is the final rounds of competition for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products. Kade Morton holds the lead by only 36 points with Shawn Petersen in tow. Joe Wood, Jr. fell to a 72 point disadvantage after being involved in a crash this past Saturday at the Lone Star Speedway. Mickey Walker, who also got tangled up this past Saturday, trails by 123 markers with Chance Morton completing the top-five in regional standings. Friday, October 16 and Saturday, October 17 at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway will open at 6:00 P.M. with racing getting underway at 8:00 P.M. (CT). Friday night will include Texas Winged Modifieds, USRA Modifieds, and Factory Stocks with Saturday’s lineup featuring IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars and USA Limited Modifieds. Admission each night is $25 for adults with discounts for Military, Seniors, and Children. Kids 12 and under are admitted free of charge into the grandstands. For more information on the Devil’s Bowl Speedway, log onto or call (972) 222-2421. For continued updates on the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tracks Around the Country Postpone Events Due to COVID-19

Below are releases from short tracks around the country that have postponed events due to the COVID-19 pandemic: ––––––––––– Kingsport Speedway KINGSPORT, TN - Kingsport Speedway is postponing it’s 20