• fastrackjournal

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series’ 27th Annual Pittsburgher 100 THIS Weekend

WAYCROSS, GA - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will return to Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway this Friday-Saturday, August 28th-29th. The nation's premiere national tour for dirt late models will sanction the 27th Annual Pittsburgher 100. This weekend's event will mark the series' first visit since 2005 to the famed, Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. In 2005, Hall of Fame driver, Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH inherited the lead on lap 82 after race leader Matt Miller suffered a flat tire. Moran lead the final 18 laps to the victory over Brad Malcuit, Gary Stuhler, John Flinner, and Lou Bradich. Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway (PPMS) is one of Western Pennsylvania's premier racing facilities operated by Miley Motor Sports since 1989. The monster, half-mile oval is sure to produce some of the most high-speed, door-to-door, edge of your seat racing action this season. The nation's most elite dirt late model teams will battle a strong contingent of local and regional stand-outs, all chasing the $20,000 top prize. The 27th Annual Pittsburgher 100 will kick off on Thursday, August 27th with a weekly racing series program from PPMS divisions. The LOLMDS will take center stage on Friday, August 28th for Miller Welders Time Trials and Heat Races. The Precise RUSH Late Models and Sunoco Sportsman will also compete in their preliminary events on Friday night. Saturday's activities will include B-Mains and the 100-lap, $20,000-to-win main event for the LOLMDS, along with feature events for the Precise RUSH Late Models and Sunoco Sportsman. "The Miley Family is honored to host the nation's elite super late model teams, along with the best grassroots race fans in the country at our playground in Pittsburgh for the 27th consecutive Pittsburgher," stated track promoter, Matt Miley. PPMS is located just off the Noblestown Exit of PA Route 22, minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, Weirton, WV, Steubenville, OH, & Robinson Mall. To purchase tickets or find more information, visit: . Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia leads the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship standings over two-time champion, Scott Bloomquist. Three-time champion, Jimmy Owens is third, followed by four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Defending champion, Don O'Neal completes the top five in series standings. Sixth through eleventh are: Brandon Sheppard, Dennis Erb Jr., Eddie Carrier Jr., Steve Francis, Jared Landers, and Chris Brown.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tracks Around the Country Postpone Events Due to COVID-19

Below are releases from short tracks around the country that have postponed events due to the COVID-19 pandemic: ––––––––––– Kingsport Speedway KINGSPORT, TN - Kingsport Speedway is postponing it’s 20