• fastrackjournal

Silver Dollar Nationals This Weekend at I-80 Speedway

WAYCROSS, GA - The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will compete in the largest auto racing event in the state of Nebraska this weekend. The 5th Annual Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE is set for this coming Friday and Saturday nights, July 17th-18th. The event is co-sanctioned with the Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Association. The nation's top dirt late model drivers will be on hand in pursuit of the $32,000 top prize. It is customary for I-80 Speedway to provide some of the nation's most thrilling, door-to-door racing action, lap after lap. In 2014, Scott Bloomquist earned his first-career Silver Dollar Nationals after fighting his way through lapped traffic, and fending off a late-race charge from Brian Birkhofer. This year's event will get underway on Thursday night, July 16th with an open practice for Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series/Lucas Oil MLRA and United States Modified Touring Series competitors. Thursday night's action also includes a complete racing program for the SLMR Super Late Models, 360 Sprints, and B-Mods. Friday night's racing action is highlighted by two rounds of heat races for the LOLMDS/Lucas Oil MLRA. Passing points will determine the line-up for Saturday's events. The Cubby's Chase to the Silver Dollar Nationals will wrap up the night for the late models. The USMTS will feature a complete racing program on Friday night as well. On Saturday, B-Mains for the LOLMDS/Lucas Oil MLRA will be held, plus the $3,000-to-win, Belt Bash non-qualifiers race before the 80-lap, Silver Dollar Nationals finale takes center stage. The USMTS will cap off the weekend with a complete racing program. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA continues to lead the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship standings. Three-time champion, Jimmy Owens and four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. are tied for second. Two-time champion, Scott Bloomquist is fourth, followed by defending champion, Don O'Neal. Sixth through twelfth include: Brandon Sheppard; Dennis Erb Jr.; Steve Francis; Eddie Carrier Jr.; Jared Landers; Devin Moran; and Chris Brown. Brandon Sheppard leads the Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year chase over Chris Brown.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tracks Around the Country Postpone Events Due to COVID-19

Below are releases from short tracks around the country that have postponed events due to the COVID-19 pandemic: ––––––––––– Kingsport Speedway KINGSPORT, TN - Kingsport Speedway is postponing it’s 20