• fastrackjournal

Lucas Oil Late Models Return to the Midwest! for Triple Shot of Racing


WAYCROSS, GA - The premier national touring series for dirt late models will return to the Midwest this weekend for a triple shot of racing action. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will visit Tri-City Speedway on Friday, July 10th before heading to Lucas Oil Speedway on Saturday-Sunday, July 11th-12th. Tri-City Speedway, in Granite City, Illinois, will host the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the second time in 2015. The "Battle at the Beach 50" includes a complete show of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win main event. In 2014, Don O'Neal held off Scott Bloomquist and Jimmy Owens after a three-way battle for the top spot to claim the victory. The UMP Modifieds and B-Modifieds will also be in action at Tri-City Speedway on July 10th. For tickets and more information, visit: . The Series will then travel to Lucas Oil Speedway, in Wheatland, Missouri, for two action-packed days of racing. The festivities will kick off on Saturday, July 11th with the 9th Annual CMH "Diamond Nationals" which includes a complete show of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win main event. Jimmy Owens dominated the event in 2014, recording his third career "Diamond Nationals" victory. The USRA Modifieds will run as the support division on July 11th. The action will ratchet up on Sunday, July 11th with the completion of the 23rd Annual Lucas Oil Show-Me 100 - Presented by The final night of the Show-Me 100 was postponed due to rain on May, 23rd. With only one B-Main complete, the Saturday portion of the program will continue, as originally scheduled. Eddie Carrier Jr. currently leads the second of three Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series B-Mains, with 10 of 20 laps complete. For more information concerning Lucas Oil Speedway, call the track office at: (417) 282-5984 or visit: . The renowned Lucas Oil Production Studios will be on hand to film all three events for air on multiple television networks later in 2015. A complete television schedule is available at: . Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA continues to lead the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship standings over four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Defending champion, Don O'Neal is third, followed by three-time champion, Jimmy Owens. Two-time champion, Scott Bloomquist rounds out the top five in series standings. Sixth through twelfth include: Dennis Erb Jr.; Brandon Sheppard; Steve Francis; Jared Landers; Devin Moran; Eddie Carrier Jr. and Chris Brown. Fresh off his recent victory, Brandon Sheppard leads the Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year chase over Chris Brown. Track Information: Tri-City Speedway Phone Number: 618-931-7836 Track Promoters: Kevin & Tammy Gundaker Location: 5100 Nameoki Road, Granite City, IL 62040 Website: Lucas Oil Speedway Phone Number: 417-282-5984 General Manager: Dan Robinson Location: 700 E Hwy 54, Wheatland, MO 65779 Website:


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tracks Around the Country Postpone Events Due to COVID-19

Below are releases from short tracks around the country that have postponed events due to the COVID-19 pandemic: ––––––––––– Kingsport Speedway KINGSPORT, TN - Kingsport Speedway is postponing it’s 20