• fastrackjournal

Independence Day Weekend Tripleheader on Tap for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series


WAYCROSS, GA - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will celebrate the Independence Day weekend with three events at three different venues. All three events will feature an action-packed program that includes: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win main event. This blockbuster weekend begins on Thursday, July 2, when 201 Speedway in Sitka, KY, hosts the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the inaugural running of the "Bob Miller Memorial." The nation's top dirt late model talents will battle a strong contingent of local and regional standouts at the historic, 3/8-mile oval. The Open Wheel Modified division will also be in competition. Jimmy Owens roared from his 17th starting position and survived a 3-wide battle for the lead with five laps remaining to win last year's event at 201 Speedway. For tickets and more information, visit: . From there, the series will trek north to Zanesville, OH for the "Creno's 50" at Muskingum County Speedway on Friday, July 3. In addition to the high-speed, door-to-door racing action, the event will feature the area's largest fireworks display. Also on the racing card will be the Open Wheel Modifieds, Pure Stocks, and Four Cylinders. In 2014, Jimmy Owens became the tenth different winner in ten appearances by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series at Muskingum County Speedway. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will polish off the weekend with the "Independence 50" at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, OH on Saturday, July 4. Limited Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds will run as support divisions. Scott Bloomquist returns as the defending winner of the "Independence 50." Further information is available at: . Jonathan Davenport, of Blairsville, GA, leads the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship standings over four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Defending champion, Don O'Neal is third, followed by three-time champion, Jimmy Owens. Two-time champion, Scott Bloomquist rounds out the top five in series standings. Sixth through twelfth include: Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Francis, Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran, Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier Jr., and Chris Brown. Brandon Sheppard leads the current Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year chase over Chris Brown.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tracks Around the Country Postpone Events Due to COVID-19

Below are releases from short tracks around the country that have postponed events due to the COVID-19 pandemic: ––––––––––– Kingsport Speedway KINGSPORT, TN - Kingsport Speedway is postponing it’s 20