• fastrackjournal

Summer Shootout Next at Tri-Sate Speedway

HAUBSTADT, IN - The Tri-State Speedway will be having its’ next race on Saturday evening June 6th. The MSCS Sprints will participate along with the Summit Modifieds in the “Tri-State Summer Showdown.” The sprint car feature will pay $2,000 to win and the special modified feature will pay $1,500 to win. Leading the cast of drivers expected to compete in the 410 sprint portion of the Summer Showdown is Brady Short. The 2011 MSCS Champion has taken over the series points lead. In winning the Josh Burton Memorial Race on Memorial Day Weekend, Brady shot ahead of Carson Short in points. That lead stands at 38 points which is the widest margin so far this season. Chase Stockon also had a turn at leading the points. The point margin between first and second places has been in the single digits three times and as close as two points. Currently Carson Short leads Robert Ballou by a point for the runner-up honors in the standings and has assumed the role as the closest challenger for the title. The 12 remaining races this season allow plenty of chances for drivers to make substantial gains. The defending overall Champion for the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is Mike Harrison. The race on June 6th Haubstadt is once again the opener for this year’s six week tour. The teams will move on up U.S. 41 to race at Terre Haute Sunday night thus providing drivers with back to back races. They will be back at Tri-State for a second event on July 5th. The last race in the series is not until July 25th. The Summit Modified standing to determine the champion will reflect a drivers best 8 finishes. That allows drivers to move in and out of the series from locality to locality to assure the best field of race cars at every one of the 30 stops. This is the fourth year for the popular series. Tyler Nicely won the June Summer Showdown for Summit Modifieds at Tri-State Speedway last year. Levi Kissinger and Dave Beck gave chase and collected podium finishes. Devin Gilpin won the event in 2013. Kissinger was second and Nicely fourth. There were 52 entries that year. The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series has completed all eight races on the schedule so far this year Winning feature races at the beginning of this season has been a real challenge. The win column in the MSCS record book already lists six drivers this season. They are Chase Stockon, Bryan Clauson, Brady Bacon, Brady Short, Shane Cottle, and Thomas Meseraull. Brady Short’s three victories makes him the only driver with multiple MSCS wins this year. Those wins also put him in sole possession of second place on the MSCS All Time Feature Wins List with 14. With the June 6th sprint car race being sanctioned by MSCS passing points will be used. Drivers following the MSCS series will be back in familiar surroundings following the normal series format. Racing will get underway at 7:30. Hot laps will be held an hour earlier.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tracks Around the Country Postpone Events Due to COVID-19

Below are releases from short tracks around the country that have postponed events due to the COVID-19 pandemic: ––––––––––– Kingsport Speedway KINGSPORT, TN - Kingsport Speedway is postponing it’s 20